Skip to content ↓

The Governing Body

St Vincent's converted to academy status and joined Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust on 1st April 2022. Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust is structured in accordance with its Articles of Association.

There are three levels of governance within the Trust: the Members, The Trust Board of Directors and the governors who make up the Local Governing Committee for each academy in The Trust.

The Trust comprises of five Members. The Members are accountable to the DfE and have ultimate responsibility for The Trust achieving its charitable objectives. They sign-off the 'Articles of Association' and have the power to appoint and remove the Directors. The Members include representatives from the Diocese of Newcastle and Hexham. To provide challenge and scrutiny to the Board, the majority of the Members are independent of the Directors.

‚ÄčThe ultimate responsibility for the running of Trust schools resides with the Directors of the Trust. They set the strategic direction and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of the schools within it. This is set out in a legal document known as the ‘funding agreement‘. As charity trustees, the Directors must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements.

‚ÄčTo find out more about our Trust please visit

Governors can be contacted via the school office: or 0191 265 5049